Marcus Paige wins ACC's top basketball scholar athlete award for second time

Marcus Paige has won the Skip Prosser Award, which is awarded annually to the ACC's top men's basketball scholar-athlete, for the second consecutive year, the ACC announced on Tuesday.

To receive the award a player must have earned at least a 3.0 grade point average the previous semester while having maintained a cumulative 3.0 throughout his academic year. Paige is UNC's second two-time recipient of the Prosser Award, which is in its ninth year.

Tyer Zeller, who won ACC Player of the Year honors while at UNC in 2012, also won the Prosser Award in 2011 and 2012. Paige also received Academic All-ACC honors for the fourth consecutive season, joining Henrik Rodl (1990-93) and Zeller (2009-12) as the only four-time selections in school history.

Nominees for the Prosser Award, which is named after former Wake Forest coach Skip Prosser, are evaluated on academic and athletic performance, though a player's academic achievement is weighed more heavily. Paige is majoring in history and journalism.

“Marcus has accepted and met the challenges of succeeding both academically at a world-class university and athletically in the finest basketball conference in the country,” UNC coach Roy Williams said in a statement. “He has played outstanding basketball and been a tremendous leader for our team for four seasons, while also embracing the academic rigors and opportunities that a great university offers.