College Sports

College Notebook

Maguire, Kupcho named to Player of the Year watch list

Duke University junior Leona Maguire and Wake Forest sophomore Jennifer Kupcho were named to the watch list for the 2016-17 PING Women’s Golf Coaches Association Division I Player of the Year Award, the organization announced Tuesday.

The winner of the award will be named after medal play at the NCAA Championship, which will take place Friday through Wednesday at Rich Harvest Farm in Sugar Grove, Ill.

Maguire and Kupcho are joined on the list by Andrea Lee of Stanford, Cheyenne Knight of Alabama and Martina Edberg of Cal State Fullerton.

Maguire, a native of Cavan, Ireland, owns an NCAA-best 70 stroke average on the year, which would be an NCAA single-season record. She is ranked No. 1 in the latest Golfweek Individual rankings and rankings and is the No. 1 ranked amateur golfer in the world. Maguire is the 2017 ACC Player of the Year, and in April she claimed her second ACC championship with a six-under-par 210 while helping lead Duke to its 20th team championship.

Kupcho is ranked No. 3 nationally in the GolfStat individual rankings. An All-ACC selection, her 70.39 scoring average is on pace to break the single season school record by nearly three strokes. Her current streak of 12 consecutive rounds under par is a school record.

Campbell: Kaylin Yost received a sponsor’s exemption into the LPGA event at Kingsmill this week, while Brad Fritsch and Ben Polland will play in the Byron Nelson Classic PGA event.

Men’s Golf

N.C. State: The Wolfpack completed the second of three rounds Tuesday at the NCAA Austin Regional. The team shot a 297 (+13) its second time through the course and is tied for seventh in a field of 14 teams.

Wake Forest: The Demon Deacons shot a 9-over 293 to finish Tuesday tied for seventh place at 19-over in the second round at the University of Texas Golf Club. The tournament ends Wednesday.

ECU: Junior Tim Conover fired a 4-over-par 76 Tuesday to fall to 7-over-par 151 through two rounds at the NCAA College Grove Regional at the par-72, 7,383-yard Grove Club course. Final-round action will begin at 7:30 a.m. with Conover again teeing off from the 10th hole at 10:04 a.m.

Campbell: After a difficult start, the Camels recovered and played well over the final nine holes Tuesday in the NCAA West Lafayette regional men’s golf championship. The Camels were 10-over-par at the turn but played their final nine holes (the front side) at just two-over on the par-72, 7411-yard Kampen Course.

Duke: On the second day of the Baton Rouge NCAA Regional, the Blue Devils improved their chances of advancing to the NCAA Championship after finishing the afternoon as the only team at even par. The Blue Devils reeled in a 288 (E) to give themselves a 10-stroke cushion from the fifth spot entering the final day of the tournament.

Track and Field

St. Augustine’s: Standout hurdler Shawn Rowe was named CIAA Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year at the conference’s annual Spring General Assembly Meeting and End-of-Year Awards Reception. Tia-Adana Belle won six awards to tie for the most women’s honors in the nation as the university garnered 34 NCAA Division II All-Region awards from the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Women’s Tennis

UNC: The program earned four regional awards given out by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association on Monday. Courtney Nagle was selected the Carolina Region Assistant Coach of the Year. Hayley Carter is the region’s Senior Player of the Year. Sara Daavettila adds to her honors with the ITA Rookie of the Year award in the Carolina Region and sophomore Jessie Aney has been selected the region’s ITA Player to Watch. The Tar Heels, seeded second in the NCAA Team Championship, will take on 15th seed Duke on Friday

Duke: Senior Chalena Scholl added another accolade to her season, receiving the ITA Carolina Region Senior Most Improved Player award.

Elon: Juniors Erica Braschi and Olivia Lucas earned ITA Carolina region awards for sportsmanship and leadership, the organization announced.

Men’s Tennis

UNC: Ronnie Schneider was named ITA Senior Player of the Year and received the ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award, and William Blumberg was named ITA Rookie of the Year as the ITA announced its regional award winners. Next up for the Tar Heels is an NCAA Tournament third-round matchup with California on Thursday in Athens, Ga.

Duke: Senior TJ Pura added a final accolade to his career, receiving the ITA Carolina Region Senior Most Improved Player award.


UNC: Tyler Baum carried a no-hitter into the sixth as No. 3 Tar Heels beat UNCW 7-2 Tuesday evening at Boshamer Stadium. Tyler Lynn had three hits and drove in a pair of runs for the Tar Heels, who improved to 42-10 with their ninth straight home victory. The Heels open their final regular season series of the year Thursday when they host Duke for the first of three at 6 p.m.

NCCU: Six student-athletes earned All-Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference honors, with freshman Corey Joyce being named Rookie of the Year and First Team All-MEAC. Freshman Carter Williams was named Second Team All-MEAC, and juniors Devin Sweet and Evan Holland are joined on the Third Team by senior Conrad Kovalcik and freshman Jake Raby.


Campbell: Iona College slipped by the Camels, 3-2, on Tuesday in the opening round of the National Invitational Championship. The Camels will take on the loser of Liberty vs. UNCW on Wednesday in the first elimination game of the regional.


Mount Olive: The Trojans finished second overall in the race for the 2016-17 Conference Carolinas Joby Hawn Cup. The Hawn Cup goes to the conference school with the year’s best overall athletics performance. The Trojans won Conference Carolinas championships in baseball, women’s tennis, men’s outdoor track and field, women’s outdoor track and field, men’s indoor track and field, women’s indoor track and field, men’s cross country and women’s cross country. Mount Olive also had runner-up finishes in women’s lacrosse and men’s volleyball.

Shaw: The CIAA named Jolisa Williams the 2017 CIAA John Holley Sports Information Director of the Year.

Women’s Soccer

Duke: Redshirt freshman Brooke Heinsohn is one of 26 players who have been called into training with the U.S. Under-20 Women’s National Team Thursday through May 26 at the U.S. National Team Training Center in Carson, Calif. The U-20 squad will take on Japan’s U-20 National Team at 8 p.m. Monday and 8 p.m. May 24.

Women’s Volleyball

Shaw: Sophomore Kelly Murphy has been named the CIAA Female Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Women’s Basketball

Elon: Team captain Lauren Brown, set to graduate this weekend with a bachelor’s degree in exercise science and a minor in neuroscience, has been elected to a two-year term as a youth trustee on the university’s board of trustees.

From news releases