High School Sports

Prep notebook: New conference names decided soon

With new conferences coming next year to the N.C. High School Athletic Association, those new leagues are in the process of deciding what their new names will be.

Some names are easy enough to figure out: the same schools in the present-day Eastern Carolina 4A/3A are still together next fall, so there’s no need to change its name.

Others take some work. Most conference names have not been officially approved and sent to the NCHSAA, but many leagues will do that later this month.

The present-day Cap-8 will revert to the Cap-7 it held for several years. It includes Sanderson, Millbrook, Broughton, Enloe, Cardinal Gibbons, Leesville Road and Southeast Raleigh.

The “SWAC” name will stay with Apex, Apex Friendship, Middle Creek, Holly Springs, Fuquay-Varina and Garner, but it will either be called the Southern Wake or South Wake. Currently, the “SW” stands for Southwest Wake, which doesn’t fit Garner’s location in the county.

The conference with Riverside, Jordan, Green Hope, Panther Creek, Cary and Athens Drive will revive an old conference name: the Tri-6. The old name referred to a tri-county area, but this one is short for Triangle.

Corinth Holders, Wake Forest, Wakefield, Heritage, Rolesville and Knightdale will have a brand new name: the six-team Northern Athletic Conference, or NAC-VI.

The Carolina 8 3A name could be making a return. It is the leading name for Chapel Hill, East Chapel Hill, Orange, Cedar Ridge, Northwood, Hillside, Northern Durham and Southern Durham.

The Big East 3A name will stay put with Rocky Mount, Hunt, Fike, Southern Nash, Northern Nash and newcomer Franklinton.

The new league with Sandhills-area schools – Lee County, Southern Lee, Triton, Harnett Central, Western Harnett and Union Pines – will be the Tri-County 3A.

Overhills’ league, which is turning into a 4A/3A split, is leaning toward staying with the Mid-South name.

The league with East Wake, West Johnston, Clayton, Smithfield-Selma, South Johnston and Cleveland is leaning toward taking the Greater Neuse River Conference name.

The Northern Carolina 2A will be a Northern Carolina 2A/1A and include: Bunn, Louisburg, Roanoke Rapids, Warren County, Southern Vance, Northern Vance, J.F. Webb, Granville Central and South Granville.

The present-day North Central Athletic Conference is being split, and the name will stick with the northernmost schools: Roxboro Community, Falls Lake Academy, Franklin Academy, East Wake Academy, Voyager Academy and Oxford Prep.

The Central Tar Heel name will continue with current members Chatham Central and Chatham Charter as well as former NCAC teams Raleigh Charter, Research Triangle, Kestrel Heights, Woods Charter and River Mill Academy.


Milt Sherman Duals: Farmville Central won the Milt Sherman Duals on Saturday, hosted by D.H. Conley. Farmville went 5-0 in the competition including a big 45-28 win over Athens Drive.

Mustang Duals: Defending 4A champ West Forsyth won the Mustang Duals competition Saturday at Middle Creek. Locally, Middle Creek picked up a big 39-30 win over Leesville Road

USAF-Rosewood Eagle Invitational: Defending 1A champion Rosewood beat a strong field on Saturday, totaling 206 points to edge 4A powers like Jack Britt (second, 195.25) and Holly Springs (third, 159.5). Corinth Holders (121.5) was sixth, Fike (119.5) seventh and Voyager Academy (89) eighth.

Tournament champions included Rosewood’s Timothy Decatur (113 pounds), Fike’s Rae’Sae Settles (132) and Aaron Bancroft (145), Holly Springs’ Hunter Morton (138) and Jake Maroney (152), C.B. Aycock’s Joshua Wallace (182) and Corinth Holders’ Larry Williams (220) and Frankie Miller (285).

Iron Knight: Kellam High out of Virginia Beach won the Iron Knight tournament at Knightdale with 223 points, well clear of Carrboro (second, 153.5), Heritage (149) and Riverside (127.5). Apex was sixth (100), Wake Forest (82) seventh and Clayton eighth (78.5).

Tournament champions included Carrboro’s Victor Monnet (113 pounds), Quincy Monday (128) and Emanuel Oquaye (285), Wake Forest’s Ayush Patel (126) and Sander Cypher (160), Heritage’s Anthony Brito (145) and Sheriff Njie (152), Southern Durham’s Matthew Darby (195) and Clayton’s Luke Foster (182).