High School Sports

Prep Notebook: Bunn switches leagues in second NCHSAA realignment draft

Bunn's Tevin Perry (24) sprints for yardage ahead of East Duplin's Zack Robinson(25) and Dockem Woodson (8). The East Duplin Wildcats took on the Bunn Panthers in the NCHSAA 2AA third round playoff game in Bunn, N.C. on Friday, November 27, 2015. Bunn wins 36-29.
Bunn's Tevin Perry (24) sprints for yardage ahead of East Duplin's Zack Robinson(25) and Dockem Woodson (8). The East Duplin Wildcats took on the Bunn Panthers in the NCHSAA 2AA third round playoff game in Bunn, N.C. on Friday, November 27, 2015. Bunn wins 36-29. newsobserver.com

There were few changes in the second draft of the N.C. High School Athletic Association’s realignment plan for the 2017-21 athletic seasons.

Only four changes from the first draft affected teams in the East.

▪ In 4A, the only change statewide was the creation of a split conference in the Sandhills area. Six Cumberland County 3A teams (Cape Fear, Gray’s Creek, Terry Sanford, Westover, Douglas Byrd and E.E. Smith) will join 4A South View, Pine Forest and Harnett County’s Overhills. Fayetteville’s Jack Britt and Seventy-First will be added to the existing Southeastern Conference of Richmond County, Scotland County, Hoke County, Pinecrest, Lumberton and Pembroke’s Purnell Swett.

▪ In 2A, Bunn’s wish to stay in the Northern Carolina Conference with Roanoke Rapids, South Granville, Southern Vance, Warren County and newcomers Northern Vance and J.F. Webb was granted. Replacing Bunn in the new-look Eastern Plains Conference were Farmville Central and Goldsboro. North Johnston, Beddingfield, Nash Central, North Pitt and SouthWest Edgecombe round out that league.

▪ In 1A, Tarboro leaves a conference with Rocky Mount Prep, North Edgecombe and others to join Jones County, Northside (Pinetown), Williamston’s Riverside, Robersonville’s South Creek, Pamlico County and Chocowinity’s Southside.

▪ Also in 1A, Bear Grass Charter leaves the league Tarboro just joined to pair with Cape Hatteras, Ocracoke, Columbia, Creswell and Mattamuskeet.

Eastern schools who still would like to switch conferences can appeal to the realignment committee on Feb. 8 at East Carolina. This is the first realignment process that uses the 20-30-30-20 plan.

With non-football-playing schools taken out, the NCHSAA divided the four classes by taking the largest 20 percent of schools into 4A, the next 30 percent in 3A, the next 30 in 2A and the remaining 20 percent in 1A. The non-football-playing schools were added back in and placed in the appropriate class.

Brown adds Gatorade award: Broughton senior Jeremy Brown, the two-time NCHSAA 4A cross country champion, was named the N.C. Gatorade Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year. Brown plans to run at North Carolina next year.

Reaching 100 wins: Jordan High twins Maliik and Micah Marcin have both reached the 100 wrestling win plateau this season.

Gymnastics championships delayed: The gymnastics state championships scheduled for Saturday have been postponed. Gymnastics is not an NCHSAA sport but nearly every Wake and Johnston school has a varsity team. Clayton, Fuquay-Varina and Leesville Road were among the area’s conference champs.

J. Mike Blake: 919-460-2606, @JMBpreps

NCHSAA realignment conferences

Changes in bold.

4A East

Conference A: Corinth Holders, Heritage, Knightdale, Rolesville, Wake Forest, Wakefield.

Conference B: Broughton, Cardinal Gibbons, Enloe, Leesville Road, Millbrook, Sanderson, Southeast Raleigh.

Conference C: Apex, Apex Friendship, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Holly Springs, Middle Creek.

Conference D: Athens Drive, Cary, Green Hope, Jordan, Panther Creek, Riverside.

Conference G: Hoke County, Jack Britt, Lumberton, Pinecrest, Purnell Swett, Richmond County, Scotland County, Seventy-First.

3A/4A East

Conference E: (4A) New Bern, South Central; (3A) C.B. Aycock, Eastern Wayne, J.H. Rose, Southern Wayne.

Conference F: (4A) Ashley, Hoggard, Laney; (3A) New Hanover, North Brunswick, South Brunswick, Topsail, West Brunswick.

Conference H: (4A) Overhills, Pine Forest, South View; (3A) Cape Fear, Douglas Byrd, E.E. Smith, Gray’s Creek, Terry Sanford, Westover.

3A East

Conference I: Eastern Alamance, McMichael, Morehead, Northeast Guilford, Northern Guilford, Person, Rockingham County, Western Alamance.

Conference J: Cedar Ridge, Chapel Hill, East Chapel Hill, Hillside, Northern Durham, Northwood, Orange, Southern Durham.

Conference K: Harnett Central, Lee County, Southern Lee, Triton, Union Pines, Western Harnett.

Conference O: Havelock, Jacksonville, Northside (Jacksonville), Swansboro, West Carteret, White Oak

Conference P: Franklinton, Northern Nash, Rocky Mount, Southern Nash, Fike, Hunt.

Conference Q: East Wake, Clayton, Cleveland, West Johnston, South Johnston, Smithfield-Selma.

2A East

Conference I: Bertie, Currituck County, First Flight, Hertford County, Northeastern, Pasquotank County.

Conference J: Beddingfield, Farmville Central, Goldsboro, Nash Central, North Johnston, North Pitt, SouthWest Edgecombe.

Conference K: Ayden-Grifton, Greene Central, Kinston, North Lenoir, South Lenoir, Washington, West Craven.

Conference M: Clinton, East Bladen, East Duplin, James Kenan, Midway, Spring Creek, Wallace-Rose Hill, West Bladen.

Conference P: Eastern Randolph, Jordan-Matthews, Providence Grove, Randleman, Thomasville, Trinity, T.W. Andrews, Wheatmore.

Conference Q: Bartlett Yancey, Carrboro, Cummings, Durham School of the Arts, Graham, N.C. School of Science & Math, Reidsville.

Conference R: Bunn, J.F. Webb, Northern Vance, Roanoke Rapids, South Granville, Southern Vance, Warren County.

2A/1A East

Conference H: (2A) Fairmont, Red Springs, South Columbus, St. Pauls, Whiteville; (1A) East Columbus, South Robeson, West Columbus.

Conference L: (2A) Croatan, Dixon, Richlands, Trask; (1A) Lejeune, Pender, Southwest Onslow.

1A East

Conference G: Bear Grass Charter, Cape Hatteras, Columbia, Creswell, Mattamuskeet, Ocracoke.

Conference H: Manteo, Camden County, Edenton Holmes, Gates County, Perquimans, Plymouth.

Conference I: Jones County, Northside (Pinetown), Pamlico County, Riverside (Williamston), South Creek, Southside, Tarboro.

Conference J: KIPP Pride, North Edgecombe, Northampton County, Northwest Halifax, Rocky Mount Prep, Southeast Halifax, Weldon.

Conference L: Hobbton, Lakewood, Neuse Charter, North Duplin, Princeton, Rosewood, Union.

Conference N: Chatham Central, Chatham Charter, Kestrel Heights, North Moore, Raleigh Charter, Research Triangle, River Mill Academy, Woods Charter.

Conference O: East Wake Academy, Falls Lake Academy, Granville Central, Louisburg, Oxford Prep, Roxboro Community, Voyager Academy.

Football only: Chatham Central, Granville Central, Kestrel Heights, Louisburg, North Moore.