Here are the final candidates running for local office in towns across Wake County

An Election Day file photo
An Election Day file photo AP

While Cary and Raleigh will have elections in October, most of Wake County’s other municipalities will vote on Nov. 5.

Early voting begins Oct. 16 and ends Nov. 1.

You can find the Raleigh City Council candidates at http://bit.ly/RaleighCandidates2019 and the Cary Town Council candidates at http://bit.ly/CaryCandidates2019.

Below are candidates in other Wake County municipal races. An asterisk designates an incumbent.


The mayor and two at-large seats are up:

Apex Mayor

  • Jacques Gilbert

Apex Town Council At-Large:

  • Terry Mahaffey
  • Wesley Moyer*
  • Cheryl Stallings


The mayor and three at-large seats are up:

Fuquay-Varina Mayor

  • John Byrne*

Fuquay-Varina Board of Commissioners

  • Qisoundra “Qi” Flowers

  • Marilyn Gardner*
  • William “Bill” Harris*
  • Larry Smith*


The mayor and three at-large seats are up:

Garner Mayor

  • Charles Dingee
  • Ken Marshburn
  • Mona Parks
  • Ronnie Williams*

Garner Town Council At-Large

  • Demian Dellinger
  • Phil Matthews
  • Daniel Simmons
  • Rachel Tourdot
  • Elmo Vance*

Holly Springs

Two at-large seats are up:

Holly Springs Town Council

  • Cheri Lee*
  • Shaun McGrath
  • Tom O’Brien*
  • Garrett Raczek
  • Aaron Wolff


The Knightdale mayor and two at-large seats are up:

Knightdale Mayor

  • James Roberson*

Knightdale Town Council

  • Ben McDonald
  • Stephen Morgan


One at-large seat, district 1, district 3 and the unexpired term of district 2 are up:

Morrisville Town Council District 1

  • Anne Robotti
  • Michael “Mike” Schlink*

Morrisville Town Council District 2 (unexpired term)

  • Donna Fender
  • Matt Joseph
  • Kristen Richardson

Morrisville Town Council District 3

  • Liz Johnson*

Morrisville Town Council At-Large

  • Satish Garimella*


The Rolesville mayor and two at-large seats are up:

Rolesville Mayor

  • Ronnie Currin

Rolesville Board of Commissioners

  • Edward “Ed” Carelli
  • Steven Dieckhaus
  • Michelle Medley*
  • April Sneed
  • Sheilah Sutton*

Wake Forest

Three at-large seats are up:

Wake Forest Board of Commissioners

  • Greg Bartholomew
  • Jim Dyer
  • Heather Loftin Holding
  • Anne Reeve*
  • Chad Sary

  • Sean Sullivan
  • Adam Wright


The mayor and two at-large seats are up:

Wendell Mayor

  • Virginia “Ginna” Gray*
  • Braxton Davis Honeycutt

Wendell Board of Commissioners:

  • Ben Carroll*
  • Joe DeLoach
  • Philip Tarnaski


Three at-large seats are up:

Zebulon Board of Commissioners:

  • Shannon Baxter
  • Don Bumgarner*
  • Sam Hayes
  • Larry Loucks
  • Stan Nowell
  • Marilyn Price Wagner
  • Glenn York
Anna Johnson covers Raleigh and Wake County for the News & Observer. She has previously covered city government, crime and business for newspapers across North Carolina and received many North Carolina Press Association awards, including first place for investigative reporting. She is a 2012 alumna of Elon University.
Support my work with a digital subscription