North Carolina

Dean Smith by the numbers

1 NCAA championship as player (1952 Kansas).

2 NCAA championships as coach (1982, 1993 UNC).

3 Consecutive Final Four appearances (1967-69); only two coaches have longer consecutive streaks.

4 Times Smith lost four consecutive games in 36 seasons. That was his longest losing streak, and it happened three times in his first four seasons and also 1991-92. Smith won four or more consecutive games 87 times.

11 Final Four appearances, tied for second all-time.

13 Consecutive Sweet Sixteen appearances, a record (1981-93).

13 ACC tournament titles, most when he retired, now tied for first.

21 Longest winning streak. UNC started 21-0 in 1983-84 and 1985-86.

23 Consecutive NCAA tournaments made, a record (1975-97).

24-14 Record vs. Mike Krzyzewski.

27 NCAA tournaments made, most when he retired.

43 Different states Smith beat teams from. He never defeated a team from Delaware, Idaho, Maine, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota or Wyoming.

43-35 Smith’s record after 107-85 loss to Wake Forest on Jan. 6, 1965. That was UNC’s fourth consecutive loss that season. Smith went 836-219 thereafter (.795 winning percentage).

58 ACC tournament game wins, a record.

59 Wins vs. Duke.

60 Wins vs. N.C. State.

65 NCAA tournament game wins, a record when he retired.

68 Wins vs. Clemson, most vs. any opponent.

154 Teams he defeated.

422 ACC wins, a record.

879 Career wins, most in Div. I when he retired.

1961 First year as head coach. He started as an assistant at UNC in 1958.

1981 Year inducted into N.C. Sports Hall of Fame.

1983 Year inducted into Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame.

1997 Retired as UNC coach after 36 seasons.

2013 Awarded Presidential Medal of Freedom.