High School Sports

Southwest Wake Athletic Conference girls golf preview, 2016

Jennifer Chang during the 2015 SWAC Tournament at Bentwinds Country Club on Tuesday, October 13, 2015.
Jennifer Chang during the 2015 SWAC Tournament at Bentwinds Country Club on Tuesday, October 13, 2015. newsobserver.com

Athens Drive’s girls golf team dominated last year’s Southwest Wake Athletic Conference the way it normally does 4A individual championship.

The Jaguars won every SWAC match including the 18-hole conference tournament as Jennifer Chang won player of the year honors.

Chang (33.6 strokes per nine holes) is chasing history this year. The junior has a chance to become the second three-time state champion in NCHSAA history, joining Northern Nash alumna Ashley Leonard.

An Athens Drive golfer has won the last four 4A titles – Chang twice, preceded by Emilia Migliaccio and Sarah Bae.

The Jaguars also return all-conference performer Kayla Parsons (37.5), who finished third in the SWAC player-of-the-year race as a freshman and tied for 20th at the state championship.

Middle Creek was runner-up to Athens Drive in last year’s SWAC and will be led by Jillian Presiach (39.7). Jenna Nagy (39.8) leads the way for third-place Panther Creek. Both were state qualifiers last year.

Green Hope loses just one player from last year’s lineup and will be led by sisters Lauren Nee (41.6), a junior, and sophomore Jessie Nee (47.1). Lauren was a state qualifier.

Fuquay-Varina graduated its top three from a year ago.

Apex Friendship, coming off a sixth-place finish, returns everyone, led by Caroline Duggan (39.5). Duggan tied for 15th at the 4A championship.

Hailey Wall (57.5) is the top returning player for Apex, which finished seventh, and Katie Kiev (47.0) is the top returning player for eighth-place Cary.

Holly Springs finished last in the league last year, but senior Natalie Petersen (36.1) was runner-up in the player of the year race. Petersen took 14th overall at the 4A title.

J. Mike Blake: 919-460-2606, @JMBpreps


2015: Athens Drive

2014: Holly Springs

2013: Green Hope

2012: Green Hope

2011: Green Hope

2010: Athens Drive

2009: Athens Drive

2008: Athens Drive

2007: Green Hope

2006: Green Hope


Team: Athens Drive (2009, 2010, 2011), Green Hope (2014)

Individual: Cary’s Melissa McCabe (spring 1997); Green Hope’s Chris Brady (2000); Athens Drive’s Katherine Perry (2009), Sarah Bae (2012), Emilia Migliaccio (2013) and Jennifer Chang (2014, 2015).