Voters will pick leaders Tuesday in Durham, Chapel Hill and other towns. What to know.

A roll of stickers awaits voters as they come out to cast their ballots in the mayoral race at Sertoma Park in Raleigh, NC, on Nov. 7, 2017.
A roll of stickers awaits voters as they come out to cast their ballots in the mayoral race at Sertoma Park in Raleigh, NC, on Nov. 7, 2017. News & Observer file photo

Raleigh and Cary may have settled their 2019 municipal elections last month, but voters in many other Triangle cities and towns will be going to the polls Tuesday.

Durham, Chapel Hill, Carrboro, Apex, Wake Forest and many other towns will be picking mayors and council members.

Durham residents also will vote on a $95 million affordable housing bond issue. And residents of the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools district will select school board members.

Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. Tuesday. To find your polling site, enter your address here.

Here are the some of the main elections on the ballot Tuesday in the Triangle, along with some links to previous stories.

* denotes incumbent

Durham County

Voting photo
File photo


Durham Mayor

Steve Schewel*

Sylvester Williams


Durham City Council (3 seats)

Javiera Caballero*

Joshua Gunn

▪ Jillian Johnson*

Daniel Meier

Charlie Reece*

Jacqueline Wagstaff

Read Next

Affordable housing bond

City leaders have proposed the $95 million bond as part of a larger plan to help the Durham Housing Authority redevelop several of its downtown properties into mixed-income neighborhoods, among other projects to stabilize neighborhoods and reduce homelessness. If passed, the city says it would cost the owner of a home valued at $230,000, the city’s average, about a $37 per year on their tax bill.

Read Next

Orange County

Chapel Hill Mayor Pam Hemminger, left, and her challenger Joshua Levenson Contributed

Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill Mayor

Pam Hemminger*

Joshua Levenson

Read Next

Chapel Hill Town Council (4 seats)

Jessica Anderson* (Mayor pro tem)

Sue Hunter

Tai Huynh

Nancy Oates*

Michael Parker*

Amy Ryan

Renuka Soll

Read Next

Read Next


Carrboro Mayor

Lydia Lavelle*

Carrboro Board of Aldermen (3 seats)

Matthew P. Clements

Stephen Friedman

Susan Romaine

Damon Seils* (Mayor pro tem)

Sammy Slade*

Read Next


Hillsborough Mayor

Jenn Weaver

Hillsborough Board of Commissioners (3 seats)

Mark Bell*

Matt Hughes*

Evelyn Lloyd*

Kevin Mason

Read Next

Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools Board of Education (4 seats)

Rani Dasi*

Andrew Davidson

Jillian La Serna

Ashton Powell

Deon Temne

CHCCS school board candidate_fitted.jpeg
Incumbent Rani Dasi (from left) and four challengers -- Andrew Davidson, Jillian La Serna, Ashton Powell and Deon Temne -- are competing for four seats on the Chapel Hill-Carrboro School Board. Contributed

Read Next

Wake County


Apex Mayor

Jacques Gilbert

Apex Town Council (2 seats)

Terry Mahaffey

Wesley Moyer*

Cheryl Stallings


Fuquay-Varina Mayor

John Byrne*

Fuquay-Varina Board of Commissioners (3 seats)

Qisoundra “Qi” Flowers

Marilyn Gardner*

William “Bill” Harris*

Larry Smith*


Garner Mayor

Charles Dingee

Ken Marshburn

Mona Parks

Ronnie Williams*

Garner Town Council (3 seats)

Demian Dellinger

Phil Matthews

Daniel Simmons

Rachel Tourdot

Elmo Vance, Jr.*

Holly Springs

Holly Springs Town Council (2 seats)

Cheri Lee*

Shaun McGrath

Tom O’Brien*

Garrett Raczek

Aaron Wolff


Knightdale Mayor

James Roberson*

Knightdale Town Council (2 seats)

Ben McDonald

Stephen Morgan


Morrisville Town Council District 1

Anne Robotti

Michael “Mike” Schlink*

Morrisville Town Council District 2 (unexpired term)

Donna Fender

Matt Joseph

Kristen Richardson

Morrisville Town Council District 3

Liz Johnson*

Morrisville Town Council At-Large

Satish Garimella*


Rolesville Mayor

Ronnie Currin

James Bradford is not on the ballot but is running a write-in campaign.

Rolesville Board of Commissioners (2 seats)

Edward “Ed” Carelli

Steven Dieckhaus

Michelle Medley*

April Sneed

Sheilah Sutton*

Wake Forest

Wake Forest Board of Commissioners (3 seats)

Greg Bartholomew

Jim Dyer

Heather Loftin Holding

Anne Reeve*

Chad Sary

Sean Sullivan

Adam Wright


Wendell Mayor

Virginia “Ginna” Gray*

Braxton Davis Honeycutt

Wendell Board of Commissioners (2 seats)

Ben Carroll*

Joe DeLoach

Philip Tarnaski


Zebulon Board of Commissioners (3 seats)

Shannon Baxter

Don Bumgarner*

Sam Hayes

Larry Loucks

Stan Nowell

Marilyn Price Wagner

Glenn York

Read Next

Staff writers Tammy Grubb, Anna Johnson and Trent Brown contributed to this list.

Related stories from Raleigh News & Observer

Thad Ogburn is The News & Observer’s Metro Editor, overseeing reporters and editors who cover education, local government, crime, courts, media, food, religion and cultural issues. A North Carolina native, he’s held a variety of editing roles in news and features for the past 28 years.